18 comments on “Estimating Typhoon Haiyan’s Wind Speeds Using Windicators

  1. Pingback: The Blog Sitemap | Joshua C. Agar

  2. Hello! I’m a weather fan.I’m really curious about how you figure out this data. Could you let me see your paper? Or just a part of it ? Or just tell me when the Guiuan station record the pressure of 910HPA ?I can only guess it happened between 5:15am to 5:30am.I searched all over the whole Internet and just get a little information of Guiuan’s data. I know 160KPH sustained wind recorded at 4:00 am and the maximum gust of 205KPH at 4:10 am. But these data helps nothing to calculate the center pressure. I have no idea of the variation of pressure between Guiuan and the center of Haiyan. Also I don’t know the distance between Guiuan and the Inner edge of the eye wall.So I really need your help. Thank you!!

    Like

    • Thanks for dropping by at my blog. Just give me the following details:

      Full Name
      Course / Academic Position
      University
      Email address

      I’ll send to you via email the paper that I’ve presented in the BBAA VIII International Colloquium in Boston. As for the updated paper, I may be presenting it to the SB Global Conference next year in Hong Kong.

      4:10 am – 53 m/s gust recorded at Guiuan (Estimated 10-min maximum sustained winds: 325 kph; Minimum Central Pressure: 867.5 mbar)
      5:10 am – 910 mbar barometer reading (Estimated 10-min maximum sustained winds: 311 kph; Minimum Central Pressure: 872.2 mbar)

      Like

      • Another question: the 910 mbar barometer reading at Guiuan City Hall Station or at the Guiuan radar station? I find out that Guiuan City Hall Station recorded 922.32 at 5:15am(probably not SLP).

        Like

      • The 910 mbar barometer reading was recorded in Guiuan Radar Station using a barograph (since the automated data gathering stopped at 4:10 am). The lowest pressure was recorded at 5:10 am. It was adjusted already to a mean sea level pressure. (It was actually lower than 910 mbar, then it was adjusted after the calibration)

        Like

      • In the case of PAGASA Guiuan Station, as much as 10 mbar were added when the calibration of the results was done. Within the 15-minute interval between 5:00 and 5:15 am, the program that I’ve used to simulate winds and pressure predicted pressures between 915 mbar (5:01 am) and 899 mbar (5:15 am).

        Like

      • There is no weather station or weather gathering apparatus at Guiuan City hall, as far as I remember when I went there. Neither the PAGASA staff then knew. The Guiuan Station was located 2 km northeast of the city center, on top of a 150 m hill.

        Like

      • Oh. It’s from the Advanced Sciences and Technology Institute of DOST! I’ll ask for the data again in ASTI to verify this. I got my own set of data from them. The Municipal Hall was already severely damaged around that time, I think the data was compromised.

        Like

      • I just saw it now. It was probably compromised or since, it was an automated station, which delivered the lowest pressure or the greatest rainfall recorded within 15 minutes, it delivered the lowest pressure at the time it was damaged between 5:00 am and 5:15 am.

        Like

  3. In my opinion, both 922(maybe 924 SLP) and 910 sounds resonable. The distance between two station is about 3.5km. For The Municipal Hall, 930-932 at 5:10 I guess. So the variation of pressure at that time is 5.7-6.3mb/km,and obviously isn’t the biggest variation of pressure in haiyan’s eyewall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

